About to purchase an external GPU

hi there,

for an art installation I’ve been working with Touch Designer for a few years now, recording and archiving input from 4 camera feeds and playing back material over 2 video projectors. I/O runs over two Black Magic Decklink Duo 2 cards. Touch Designer receives commands from Super Collider to do its things composed over time.

I’m running a mac mini 2018 (Mojave OS) and it has quite a bit of trouble keeping up with the different simultaneous processes, which is why I am about to buy an external GPU, with a Radeon™ Pro WX 7100 Graphics card mounted inside.

I am assuming this won’t cause any compatibility issues with Touch Designer, but figured it would be a good thing to be sure and post my question here. Anyone has any experience with this kind of hardware expansion?

Thanks for your response,
Martijn

We haven’t tested external GPUs much in-house. There are reports from people using them on the forum, but there are some catches with them. For example, I think you want to make sure only monitors connected to the external GPU are active. So unfortunately we don’t have a strong answer, but you may want to search the forum for other posts where people have mentioned it.

Here are a few threads from others running eGPU on macOS. For laptops the problems stem from trying to use the internal screen and eGPU together, it seems most people have success when only connecting to the eGPU.

hi Ben,
thanks for your messages, that’s very helpful.
I’m running a Mac Mini so would have to connect a monitor, but, with your notes, I am wondering how to hook up the two videoprojectors I am using…

The graphics card I am thinking of buying has 4 hdmi outs. Would you suggest to channel the two video outputs over the graphics card or keep them running over the Black Magic I/O cards I am currently using?

Thanks again,
Martijn