CHOP float precision

Hello,

I’m reporting an issue I encountered while attempting to manipulate small float values in CHOPs, as I’ve noticed that float precision varies between operators.

I created a value of 0.00001 using a ConstantCHOP and then multiplied this value by 0.00001 using a MathCHOP. However, when I tried to retrieve this value using me.inputVal in an ExpressionCHOP, the result was 0, which seems to be an issue. Additionally, it appears that the ConstantCHOP cannot produce extremely small values, such as 1e-10, and is limited to values no smaller than 1e-05.

Is this difference in numeric precision dependent on the type of CHOP used, or is it a bug affecting certain operators? If possible, I would like for all operators to perform calculations with the same precision to avoid any rounding issues or loss of precision mid-process.

Thanks!
float_precision_bug.toe (5.4 KB)

Hello @JoeOhara,

I am not a TD developer, but as far as I am aware CHOPs are internally using floats, which means they can represent numbers with up to 6-9 digits. The number you are trying to represent has more digits - that’s why you are hitting floating point rounding errors. For it to work properly you would need double type which allows for more precision (15-17 significant digits). You can represent and work with such number in Python. Python uses double type by default when working with floating point numbers (unless you specifically create variables with lower precision). Hope this helps.

@monty_python
Thank you for your response.
I understand that using double precision in Python can handle the issue due to its ability to represent and work with numbers with 15-17 significant digits, as opposed to floats which have a precision of 6-9 digits.
My question, however, is why this discrepancy occurs specifically between the MathCHOP and ExpressionCHOP within TouchDesigner.