Collision objects clipping through each other

Hi all

I am quite new to using bullet solver and I am currently having an issue with a collision object clipping through a container

I have a fairly simple setup of a sphere inside a rotating rectangular box which I have set to compound with continuous collision detection turned on

The sphere collides fine with the box container when it is not rotating, but once I introduce rotation along the z axis of the container it seems to clip outside of it

I have tried switching the container to using 6 individual boxes for faces to add depth to the faces as suggested in the manual but I still have the same issue

Thanks!
Nick

Are you rotating the block directly via the transform or indirectly using velocity?

Hi Eric

I am rotating the block via the rotate value in the Xform window of the actor comp

You should be rotating it with velocity in this case. There’s a few ways to do this: the angular velocity parameter on the box actor, using feedbacking/Bullet Solver CHOP on vel_r[xyz] channels, or using a local force COMP. I recommend taking a look at the Bullet Solver’s OP Snippets if you haven’t already.

You’ll likely need to change some things about your simulation as well, since I expect the box is currently static rather than dynamic. Switching to dynamic means the collision shape can’t be concave. You can get around this by using a compound collision shape composed of convex SOPs (one for each wall of the box). Additionally, you’ll need to constrain the box in place; from the description of your simulation I think this would best be done using a hinge constraint via the Constraint COMP.

Thanks! Ill give that a try!

Would I have to have a separate actor for each convex SOP or could I merge them into 1 actor?

Cheers!

Would I have to have a separate actor for each convex SOP or could I merge them into 1 actor?