Dashed lines with a "y-axis" problem

Hello,

I drew dashed lines with the chopto SOP and line MAT but it seems like the dashed line doesn’t apply to an y-axis of square and sawtooth-shaped lines. I am wondering if there’s a way to solve this issue. FYI, please press the number 1 key to switch between different line shapes in the file. Thank you so much.

question.toe (10.0 KB)

Hey,

the issue is that with the square wave form you don’t get any points when the y value switches between its extremes:

An x/y waveform might look something like this:

cheers
Markus

Thank you @snaut this is exactly what I was looking for. But I am wondering how you created those tx and ty patterns from the pattern chop. Can you please show me that in a little bit more detail? I am a completely noob.

Wait a minute. If I am not mistaken, I think your code is working in an opposite way to mine because the “resample1” is heading to the “sopto1”. That’s why I was confused first :slight_smile: Did you draw a regular pulse wave (without dots) and activate the point display option in SOP?

Hey @uforange ,

sorry - I was lazy last night and didn’t give you a full solution :slight_smile:
The full solution is a bit more complex than for the other waveforms.

I hope the included component makes sense for what you are trying to do. Mainly I’m using the Speed CHOP with Timeslicing turned off to generate the necessary tx and ty values.
squareWithCHOPs.tox (710 Bytes)

There is another approach you could take that might be simpler. Instead of writing point colors to create the dashed line, make use of the edge length texture mode and apply a texture to the geometry for a similar effect.

edgeLengthTexture.tox (1022 Bytes)

Hope this helps
Best
Markus

No problem. It really helps. Thanks a lot @snaut