Driving addresable leds

Hi! Im pretty new to work with light and mapping pixels to fixtures. I want eventually to map 3D content to led stripes for building a volumetric display 3d display / ledcube. (I might start in 2D)

If I want to build it myself, would it be enough to buy some kind of addresable ledstripe White Tri-Color LED Strip - Addressable, Sealed (1m) - COM-13898 - SparkFun Electronics

1 artnet device for example:
https://www.amazon.com/70405-Ethernet-Lighting-Controller-Interface/dp/B072XY2PGV
(Would like to have a cheaper one though)

Then maybe a stupid question but how do I drive the leds? :slight_smile:

And then in TD I map my pixels to the corresponding channel (have to investigate this a bit further but have some ideas on how to do this).

So my question is basically: what hardware setup do I need for driving my leds?

Heya, as you noted the are many ways to control LEDs.

This thread is a goldmine of information for doing it on the cheap/diy. Read the entire thing as lots of working code gets posted the further you get: Hitting bottleneck controlling close to 4,000 LEDs! - #48 by thegladscientist

Thanks för reply! Interesting thread!
But any input / example of a setup:

TD → artnet → ?? → adressable ledstripe

Thanks

The thing you linked to only gets you halfway there (Art-Net to DMX) you should skip serial DMX and go straight from Art-Net to LED control.

Advatek makes plenty of controllers to do this on a larger scale, but if you want the cheapest easiest to acquire thing out there, I’d recommend DMXKing:

https://www.amazon.com/DMXking-LeDMX4-PRO-5V-Pro/dp/B019SFU4MG

Thanks. Looks good. However seems to be hard to find in europe. Any other recommendations similliar to advatek?

But how do I drive the leds if Im using for example are using the entecc interface linked above? What do I need more to physically connect the ledsstripes?