How can I start a project like this as a beginner?

Hello fellow TD members,

I am currently a graduate student studying at the Institute of Applied Art at National Yang-Ming-Chiao-Tung University. Recently, I have seen many Interactive Projection works and want to start learning about it. However, my undergraduate education did not cover much related education, and I am not very familiar with the software and technology in this area. I am attaching a case reference from the Sony Future Experience Program for reference. Below are some related questions of mine:

1. In the video, the UI of the projection can interact with the subsequent physical additions. What sensing technologies and components are used to achieve the interaction?

2. I think that most projectors do not have sensing technology. Are there any projectors that can handle sensing? (e.g. laser sensing…)

3. I have become more familiar with software such as Unity and Arduino, and I feel that there is a chance to achieve similar interactions, but I am still at a stage where I am not clear about the actual know-how. I would like to talk to a senior member to find out more about this part.

I would appreciate it if the senior members of the club could provide some key words related to the technology in the video as a reference, or tell me what tools I can use to achieve the desired interactive effects. If you are interested, I would also be happy to chat privately to learn more about the technology and applications. Thank you!

I don’t know what components or sensing technologies are used but from a quick look at the first you tube reference it is almost certainly a computer vision camera tracking the fingers and an overhead projector shining down on the table surface as you can see the images on the hands in the projected area. There might also be some touch sensing done with an IR camera below on a rear projection diffuse screen but it is hard to tell for sure.