How to send sensor data to TouchDesigner using ESP32?

Hello everybody!

I was wondering about what the title says. Lately I’ve been playing with TouchDesigner and some Arduino components, like rotatory encoders, buttons, ultrasonic sensor, etc.

What I do required to be connected to the computer, because all the data is sent via serial using the USB port. This far, I’m doing OK and I’m creating nice and interesting visuals using some sensors.

The thing is that I want to get rid from all the wire thing. I have an ESP32, and I’ve done succesfully the classic LED on and off via Wifi, using HTML buttons. But as I am a beginner in both worlds (Arduino and TouchDesigner) I have no idea of how can I send information via Wifi using ESP32.

Let’s say, in example, that I want to connect a rotatory encoder and an ultrasonic sensor to the ESP32… what should I do next? the info must be sent using GET/POST? or should I send the info some kind of “wifi serial monitor”, or what?

Do anybody have any idea on this? It would be so useful.

Thank you very much!! Cheers!

You can do things like http or get/post etc, but for local area networks only, where you want a speedy and constant stream of data udp is usually the easiest.

If you get your arduino ide all setup for the esp32, load a hello world sketch to make sure it works.

Then find the esp32 udp examples, they’re a good starting place.

I usually send a simple string, comma separated values, and use some dats in touch to break that out into a friendlier format, convert to chops, etc .

Hello Lucas!

I’ve never heard of udp. Could you please tell me what’s that and why is it better than get/post?

However, I know that ESP32 works cause I’ve succesfully done the classic turning on and of a LED.