Is the Ultraleap 3Di sensor compatible at all?

Hi all! TD beginner here. I recently got my hands on an Ultraleap 3Di sensor assuming it would be compatible with TD (as with the regular Leap Motion sensor). However, the leap motion chop doesn’t seem to be working and I’m not getting any data from the sensor.

As I’ve never done this before, I don’t know whether it’s just a bug I need to fix or the specific model sensor I’m using just isn’t compatible at all. Has anybody had experience working with the Ultraleap 3Di?

We don’t have the 3Di hardware ourselves to test with, but we’ve been told that it should function the same way as the regular Leap Motion sensor (v1 or v2).

To help out, I just need to get a little more info about your system. Which version of TouchDesigner are you running and what platform are you on (Windows, MacOS Intel or ARM)?

Have you installed the Gemini drivers from Ultraleap? Can you connect to the camera using the Ultraleap Control Panel? Have you pointed the Library parameter on the Leap CHOP to the location of the Ultraleap SDK on your system?

If everything is connected, you should also check flipping the sensor the otherway around since the Gemini drivers will only detect hands in the correct orientation.

1 Like

Hi @biancarague, the main function hand tracking of our hand tracking cameras is to pass camera images to the Gemini V5 hand tracking software and this software is then what TouchDesigner connects to access the hand tracking data.

This means that you can use the original Leap Motion Controller, Leap Motion Controller 2, Ultraleap 3Di or Stereo IR 170 Evaluation Kit with the latest Gemini V5 software and ToucHDesigner!

As @robmc has recommended please can you open the Ultraleap Control Panel and see if the 3Di is recognised as connected and if you can see a camera image coming from the device. In order to correctly track the hands they need to enter the frame of the image from the bottom.

I hope this helps :+1:

2 Likes