Laptop recommendation

Hello everyone!

Touch beginner here and falling in love with it (have been using it for over 2 month). My laptop is slowly dying and i have one chance to get this right. My budget is around 2K and i would like this new laptop to last me for a longtime. So can you guys please recommend a laptop that you know for sure is powerful and good enough? In my search i got so many contradicting opinions and debates that i’m kind of lost. I’m aware that desktops are better but my goal in the future is to get into installations and live performances. The three main programs i use are Touch,C4D and Blender.

Considering your favorite software, the most important is the graphic card, and for TD you would prefer a nVidia one. I recommend you to choose RTX 2060 for minimum and 2070 for the good choice (2080 are expansive and hard to cool).
intel i7 for CPU, the number of cores is not very important with TD, speed is more.
A good display but, if your goal is to have external displays and beamer, you need only HD/60hz screen, UHD/144hz is for hard gamer.
I own a MSI laptop and I am happy with it but with a decent SSD and 32Go Ram you will be closer to 3K.
TD people speak also of Razer and Gigabyte.

1 Like

Thank you for the detailed answer as always! Will look into MSI for sure

I love my Razer 15" 2070. Their latest generation is solid, I’ve had no issues with it (other than using Windows on a laptop, ha). It will run you a bit more than $2k but well worth it if you’ve a design eye. You mentioned C4D/Blender (I come from that world also), Razer is like the Apple of PCs, albeit a slightly better deal.

If design/chassis aren’t high priorities for you, I’d definitely scope out Gigabyte’s Aero lineup. Solid performance, specs and bargains. If it weren’t for their oddball design choices (like the lopsided trackpad), I would have gone with them instead.

Good luck!

1 Like