Maintaining a persistent hardware connection with a python object

Hello all,
I am not new to TD, but I am new to extensions. I thought it would be a great learning project to create my own component that manages the hardware connection of the Canable CAN interface and uses the Python-CAN library.

So far I have:

• Installed Python 3.7.7 (python-3.7.7-amd64-webinstall.exe)
  • Installed Python-CAN (pip install python-can)
  • Created my own custom component & Made my own extension for that component.

I am now trying to create one PulseButton that initiates the connection, then different functions for checking connection status and sending and receiving.

Short Version of the problem:
When I successfully create the connection, there is a Python object returned that represents the connection (with methods that I can call on that connection like status). But when I then create a different function to check the status, it doesnt know anything about the connection… “UnboundLocalError: local variable ‘bus’ referenced before assignment”
How do I maintain this Python Object “globally” to reference in different functions?

Supporting Info:
This successfully connects and returns a python object representing the connection:
bus = can.interface.Bus(bustype=‘slcan’, channel=‘COM5’, bitrate=250000)

I can then immediately do this:
print(bus.state)

Which prints this:
BusState.ACTIVE

A few things I have tried based on forum research and previous suggestions:
I tried the suggestion of some of the developers from old forum post threads that suggested storage:

vcan.store(‘busobject’, bus)

bus=vcan.fetch(‘busobject’)

…but the problem here is that when I run bus.state it shows the status at the time of the store (so if I unplug the USB port, it still shows Active).

I also tried modifying “slcan.py” to use
class slcanBus(ThreadSafeBus):
…instead of the usual…
class slcanBus(BusABC):
…but that didnt help either.
https://python-can.readthedocs.io/en/master/bus.html#thread-safe-bus