Mapping audio frequency from one audio file to another

Hello, I’m new to TouchDesigner and have been looking into the audio CHOP for the past few days.

I know that TD has the capability to do powerful audiovisuals by analyzing some parameters from an audio file and controlling the visual output with the parameters. But what I’m currently working on is that I want to map the parameters from one audio file to another audio file (instead of visual output).
For example, I’m extracting the frequency from Audio File A. And I want to map these frequency parameters to Audio File B so that the result of Audio File B will have the same frequency as Audio File A (kind of tuning Audio File B). I was able to filter out the frequencies that I didn’t want and left with the band range I wanted to map with. But now I’m facing an issue of how to use this frequency in the Audio B file. I thought that I could use AudioFilter CHOP in Audio B File and Band Pass to get the range I want, but it shows an error that the parameter can only be a string or number, not an operator.

I’m not sure if this is not doable in TD as it concentrates more on audiovisuals instead of audio tuning / audio analysis. So if there is any recommendation as to whether it requires some other software combination (like Max MSP), that is also welcome. I’m currently working with TD because this is part of a larger project where I’m using TD to connect some arduino sensors and python machine learning so I think it would be easier to integrate all in the same interface.

Thank you.

Hi @karen0317,

I’ll first quickly explain the error: The parameter Filter Cutoff Frequency of the Audio Filter CHOP expects a single float value. Now when you reference an operator, you are giving to the parameter an object that is not meaningful for the parameter itself.