Mouse position / mouse tracking (mouse cursor is not on same location as circle)

Hi,
I am quite new to TD (since january 2021) and hope that someone can help me. Attached you will find a .toe file of a circle that should follow the exact location of the mouse cursor. The circle follows the mouse location, but only in the middle of the screen the mouse cursor exactly is on the same spot as the circle. On other locations there is a gap between the mouse cursor and the circle. The more the mouse cursor goes to the edges of the screen, the bigger the gap between the mouse cursor and the circle gets.

How can I achieve that the mouse cursor and the circle are exactly on the same location?
Could someone send me the .toe file with the solution?

Thanks in advance.

Marcel

Mouse location test.10.toe (4.0 KB)

Welcome to the form @Beamblender!

So a big challenge here comes from out mouse coordinates are handled as well as how TOPs interpret normalized position. TLDR - the aspect of your texture and your screen are different, and so keeping things aligned is a little tricky.

For this very reason you might consider thinking about this in connection to a container COMP rather than your raw mouse position. With a panel CHOP you can take the rollu and rollv positions of a mouse over a container, and use that information to drive the position of your circle:

mouse

You can see how this is set-up in the attached toe file:
Mouse location test.toe (3.5 KB)

Hope that keeps you moving.

1 Like

@raganmd
Hi Matthew,
Wow, thanks for your help. I would not never have thought about this solution and was thinking about a Math or something like that. So within the container I can build the rest of my project?