Nvidia Discrete GPU Not Working Correctly With TD

Hello TouchDesigner Community,

I am a newbie who recently jumped from the Mac world to a PC. I recently invested in the following laptop

Asus Zephyrus Duo
Intel® Core ™ i7-10875H @ 2.3GHz
Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 Super with Max-Q Design
32 Gig of Ram

The laptop performs well when using other programs and gaming. However, when I use the laptop to work on Touchdesigner, GPU usage refuses to go above 10% causing the frame rate to drop into the single digits.

I have turned off Optimus and have played with the preset performance settings. All the latest drivers have been installed, and I am still having performance issues.

The laptop has a built-in second monitor that works like any other external monitor. After searching through the forums, I am assuming this could be the issue. But, I am not sure how I would go about fixing it. Bloatware or a specific program could be to blame too based on what I have read.

Any recommendations?

Thank you so much.

On windows, one consideration is to check your power consumption settings. Windows will sometimes throttle hardware usage if you’re on battery power only to conserve power. This is called your Power Plan - and you can find it in the settings menus, or in the control panel.

Next check the NVIDIA Control panel - here you should be able to set applications to use the dedicated GPU:

Next I’d check to see if the canvas is extending onto the second screen - if it is, add a monitor DAT to check which GPU your displays are assigned to. Id’ then experiment with moving the TD Canvas off of the second display to see if that makes a performance difference.

Those are the places I’d start… there’s lots more you can do to trouble shoot, but those are reasonable first steps. :slight_smile: