Open and save .jpg files repetitively and visualize in real time

Hi to everyone.

I am a newbie to the forum [and a beginner of Touch], so I apologize in advance, if I have wrong some procedure.

I would like to know if there is any possibility of doing the following with Touchdesigner:
is it possible to open and save an image file [in particular a .jpg file] countless times [editable parameter], displaying the result in real time as an output by an operator in touchdesigner?

Years ago a friend of mine built a patch in Processing, capable of doing this. Since Touchdesigner is also based on python, I was wondering if it was possible to create such a thing with the latter.

Thanks everyone in advance!

I donā€™t see why not. moviefileinTOP and moviefileoutTOP are the operators you want.

1 Like

Given the potential of a touch designer, I imagined he might be able to do it. However, being a beginner I donā€™t know how to do this work. Soā€¦ is it possible to have more precise information on how to proceed?

take a look at the python docs for TOPs. Hereā€™s the docs for a null TOP, but the generic functions n stuff apply to all tops.

Jump to the section about:
save(filepath, asynchronous=False, createFolders=False)

The bare minimum to achieve what youā€™re looking for would look like this:
op('PathToSomeTOP').save('AbsoluteOrRelativeFilePathToSave.jpg')

1 Like

Thanks for your advice. I will try to put them into practice and let you know.

1 Like

Note: In 40k, the Script TOP now has methods to save/load directly from a bytearray, avoiding the need for disk access:

f = op('moviefilein1')			
	b = f.saveByteArray('.jpg', quality = 0.1)
	scriptOp.loadByteArray('.jpg', b)

Cheers

3 Likes