opexists vs. op().valid

Admittedly I’m a python freshman, and I apologise in advance for what must be a very silly question, but I don’t understand the .valid member of the op class.

I’m looking for a python equivalent of opexists(’/nonexistentop’)

the doc says that the op class has a .valid attribute that should say if the operator exists or it has been deleted (it doesn’t say “it does not exist” not sure if there’s a difference there…)

and in fact op(’/’).valid is True

but, as I expected, op(’/nonexistent’).valid generates an error, instead of returning False.

so, what can I use in python to see if an operator exists before deciding whether or not to act on it? And what’s the use of .valid since it’s either True or else it generates an error?

thanks!
dani

You could handle the exception? Something like this?

try:
    z = op('/nonexistent').valid
except:
    print("z doesn't exist")

https://wiki.python.org/moin/HandlingExceptions

I’ll also use if statements a lot of for testing if OPs or cells(or rows) or channels exist.

if op('someOP'):

or

if op('table')['cellName',0]:

Right, so to summarize:

op('somepath')   #either returns an OP object, or None.

If you currently have an OP object, OP.valid will return whether its still there or not.

So, easiest method to first test if something exists or not is:

if op('somepath'):
    op('somepath').someaction...

As Keith mentioned, you can wrap this up with exceptions instead:

try:
    op('somepath').someaction...
except:
    pass

Secondly, if you have that OP as an object already in your script (or in storage) but you think the original operator it referes to, may have been deleted, you can quickly check with its .valid member (or add more try/accept pairs in your code).

Cheers,
Rob.

Thanks to all! I had used
if op(‘someop’):

but forgot about it (not used enough to embed it in my brain yet :slight_smile:).
on the other hand, the
try:

except: