Organizing a file with different scenes

Hello touchdesigners!

I’m very new to Touchdesigner, and I committed to a VR projection mapping experience of a few minutes. The idea is to travel through different environments (different geometries, textures etc). Now I noticed that realtime performance can add up so I’m looking for way to make sure that only the things render relevant to a certain timeframe to keep performance on point.

So my question is;

How do you que different scenes and how do I make sure the scenes are not doing things in the background when they are not visible?

What are simple ways to improve performance? What components you guys use to manage more complicated projects?

1 Like

This is a great question and I’m hoping somebody else with more experience jumps in.

I can tell you where I’d start, though.

I think the Switch node is your friend. You might lay down a Base COMP for each scene, then inside each COMP, put the assets & logic for each scene, one at a time. Use a top level Switch node to switch between the different scenes according to whatever logic you want. This could be a length of time/ number of frames, or an action taken in one of the scenes (“Goal Reached”, say), or some other combination. One easy thing to do would be to store that information in a top-level DAT table, and then refer to that DAT in an expression in the Switch node-- if you have 5 scenes, then your Switch expression needs to evaluate, one way or another, to a number between 0 and 4.

I can imagine some extra wrinkles that might be present if you wanted to transition smoothly from one scene to the next, or if you were loading big files that caused slowdowns on data load; you might have to make one scene begin a few seconds before the previous scene ends-- but those are all details you can work out once you’ve got the general architecture in place.