Rebooting my setup with a new laptop?

Hi there, I’m very new to TD.
I’m working with Max since… 15 years.

I’m trying to explore setups for a new laptop dedicated to visuals.
My i7 mac book will still get everything audio.

I read carefully System Requirements - Derivative and I concluded 2 things:

• I’ll get a Windows system
  • I should get a computer with NVIDIA gpu

My purpose is both playing live and working in studio. I’d prefer a laptop, actually, except if I find a small form factor more powerful machine (that I’d remote control without screen/keyboard eventually)

My main needs are:

• lot of polygons and meshes
  • particles systems (I know cuda based systems are very powerful)
  • texture processing
  • easy on 4K

I know I’ll need RAM, i7 or even i9, I read about Nvidia Quadro.
But I’m asking myself if I should do i9 and maybe not the most powerful Nvidia Quadro VS i7 and the most powerful Nvidia Quadro, things like that…

I know this kind of thread is eternally never ending, but I’d appreciate some references, or experiences or just ideas.

My budget is around 3k€.

Any ideas, references, would be very appreciated.

Julien

For a laptop I’d recommend a Geforce (consumer line) instead of a Quadro (pro line) - in many cases you’ll get the same performance for far less budget. For instance (apart from quadro specific features) a nvidia Geforce 2080 is for many cases roughly equivalent to a quadro rtx 6000. Use that saved quadro money to buy the fastest CPU that fits your budget (at this moment, sept 2020, the latest AMD Ryzen processors will give you the most bang for the buck) , and some NVME SSD drives for your media.

Some more recommended reading:

regarding laptop models, many people on this forum (myself included) are quite happy with a Clevo(Sager) laptop chassis, fitted with the custom components you choose. These are available in many places.
This is a white label brand which is often rebranded by a shop to their own brand.

1 Like