RFE: Raytraced Reflections

TLDR: wen raytracing?

I know reflections have been talked about in a bunch of threads, but since I don’t see an actual RFE I figured I’d make one and hopefully get a temperature reading.

I’m wondering if built-in and simple-to-get-going raytraced reflections are at all in the cards for the future of TD. What I’m imagining is a new tab on a PBR MAT where you can enable reflectivity and set a few things like how many bounces, ray density, etc.

Now, I’m a total noob about all this stuff (which is one of the reasons I love TD: it allows me to ease into many different areas of visual programming without having to dive off the deep end), but I’m assuming that the switch to Vulkan opens up the door to using RTX features.

TLDR at the bottom :sweat_smile:

I can’t speak to RTX and Vulkan specifically, but I do want to throw in my two cents on the current system vs ray tracing a bit.

In the current system, all geometries, lights, shaders, cameras, get uploaded to the GPU.

Then the render system (render top) transforms geometry into screen space, and clips/discards everything that is outside of the viewable region as far as geo goes. After this step, the GPU is only aware of the triangles still visible from screen. cameras, shaders, lights, etc.

So, at this point, rendering in the fragment shader is “pretty fast” because it’s dealing with what’s right right there in front of us, or nearby in screen space. We can calculate AO this way because it’s a screen space technique, using other info on the screen to calculate it and nothing else.

However if you want an object to reflect something that is behind the camera, that data is technically gone, and actually it was never available to the shader in a useful structure for ray tracing in the first place.

The ray tracing side I know less about, but I can give you a very low resolution picture of what happens: