Sending output on a specific segment via the timer CHOPs callback DAT

Hello TD community

My goal is to pulse the reload parameter on a moviefilein TOP using a timer CHOPs callback DAT. For my specific application, I found that the expression op(‘moviefilein1’).par.reloadpulse.pulse()
will successfully pulse the parameter I want. However, in the callback DAT under the timer CHOP, I can’t figure out how to send this pulse out only when a specific segment starts

I am looking at the def onSegmentEnter section of the callback DAT

I’m still learning python and TD and could use some help figuring out how to properly use the callback DAT to pulse the parameter in question. I think I have all the right pieces but I just don’t know the right syntax for this scenario. I can only upload a screenshot so hopefully this will give enough clues.

Thank you for any insight!

Hi @jack_lion - welcome to the forum.

You’re close here with your syntax - the syntax you’re likely looking for looks like this:

def onSegmentEnter(timerOp, segment, interrupt):

if segment == 2:
		debug("running command")
		op('moviefilein1').par.reloadpulse.pulse()
	else:
		pass

return

In this case the arguments that are passed to the onSegmentEnter python function have definitions that you can see at the top of the callback:

# timerOp - the connected Timer CHOP
# cycle - the cycle index
# segment - the segment index
# fraction - the time in fractional form
#
# interrupt - True if the user initiated a premature
# interrupt, False if a result of a normal timeout.
#
# onInitialize(): if return value > 0, it will be
# called again after the returned number of frames.

What we can do is use segment to test if we should run our reload pulse - the code above could be read as, if the segment number is exactly 2, then reload the operator called moviefilein1. You’ll sometimes see if statements described as control flow, or logic statements when learning python.