"Undo displacement" after compositing, why is it not working?

Hi there! First time posting here so I hope I am not doing something wrong. If so, please forgive me :slight_smile:

I am quite new to touch designer and I am encountering an issue with the displace TOP.
I am trying to replicate the effect I saw being done in Photoshop. Where it is possible to stack different effects on top of one another, resetting eventually the original effect, by applying the same effect in reverse.
EDIT:
Here is the video example:

The idea is simple, I want to build a network that would allow me to :

1. Add an image/video
  2. Displace it using Displace TOP and a noise texture
  3. Apply compositing to the displaced image, for example composite in a textures or other effects…
  4. De-Displace the image/video to it’s initial condition using the “negative” of the initial noise texture, used to displace the image in the first place.

Now, in order to do this I created the following network:

As you can see I am doing as described. In my (surely faulty) logic, the inverted noise should “reset” the initial displacement but instead it displaces the image even further.

I have banged my head against this for a while and I don’t seem to find a solution.

So I am wondering, do you think this is even possible?
And if yes, how would you go about doing something like this?

Thank you so much for any help and or feedback.

Cheers!

Hello @sundftig,

welcome to the community!

It’d be great to see what effect you have in mind - would be fun to help you recreate it.
For what you are showing in your network, there are a few issues: mainly that with the displacement you are loosing information on the original image. Maybe the same network with a simplified displace makes that clear: